Who, Where, What, Why, and How

Here’s the quick-start guide to who I am and what I’m doing here.

  • Who: I’m a convert/revert: raised in the American civil religion; an unpleasant atheist in high school; starting to take religion seriously in college; baptized in the Episcopal Church (at a very high one) at twenty-one; a Catholic at thirty-four; back to attending an Episcopal Church again at forty; married at forty-four (to a woman I met at the Episcopal parish; God does play his little tricks) a father at (almost) forty-six, forty-eight, fifty, fifty-two, and fifty-fifty-five. I worked in publishing, in almost every capacity from clerk to senior editor, for more than forty years. I call myself hans castorp after the protagonist of Thomas Mann’s novel The Magic Mountain. I read it on the cusp of becoming a teenager, and my mother was sure it had ruined me.
  • Where: An eastern city.
  • What: Starting a new blog I hope I’ll be more consistent with than the last two.
  • Why: I am a troubled Catholic. I find the present situation in the church profoundly unsettling, and I feel compelled to write about it, if only to put my thoughts in order And sometimes you just have to vent.
  • How: On a computer, with many cups of coffee and more than  a few prayers.

I’ll be more specific about why I’m troubled in future posts, and fill in my backstory a bit. I doubt many, if any, will want to stop here. If anyone does, please, of your charity, pray for me, a sinner.

 

 

 

About hans castorp

All things considered, it was a mistake to come down from the mountain.
This entry was posted in autobiography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

